Skip to main content
Illustration of people sitting and standing

New here?

Chat with other people who 'Get it'

with health professionals in the background to make sure everything is safe and supportive.

Register

Have an account?
Login

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Our stories

Carri
Casual Contributor

My daughter

This is the first time I have used such a forum - ever.  I live in Western Australia - my daughter lives in NSW.  She is 22 and has Aspergers and ADHD.  She has an issue overmedicating to manage daily life which in turn causes her to spiral downwards.  This journey for her and me ( her mother ) has been going on for nearly 7 years.  She has taken several overdoes, been sectioned, violent and I had to take out a VRO on her early this year.  I am a full time working professional, married with another daughter who is 19.  My daughter who has the mental illness lives in Sydney and goes to uni there. She has an obsession with me - I am her punching bag (figuratively) and her saviour.  This has and is making me unwell.  I just want to be free and not feel guilty.  I know that no amount of love can fix her problems and she must own her condition.  She has been an inpatient in a private clinic several times, has completed CBT and undegone counselling but she always returns to her external locus of control default position.  I always end up having to turn my phone off as she harrasses me - today she sent me 54 texts and threatened to harm herself again. Unfortunately, she won't join any support groups.  She has friends but is reluctant to burden them with her condition as she believes they will abandon her so most of her time is taken up trying to 'be normal'. I love her dearly but I know only she can really make the change and has to be proactive in seeking help.  I guess my ongoing fear is she won't and I have to live with that.  Thoughts?

9 REPLIES 9
Mosaic
Senior Contributor

Re: My daughter